santamariamaggiore- santamariamaggiore-

Appointment of new Canons

The Holy Father Francis has appointed 7 new Canons for the Chapter of the Papal Basilica of Saint Mary Major:


1-       Mgr. Josè Jaime Brosel Gavilá – Metropolitan Archdiocese of Valencia – Spain

2-       Mgr. Giuseppe Banfi – Society of Apostolic Life: Fraternity of the Sons of the Cross – Italy

3-       Mgr. Michael Kahle – Metropolitan Archdiocese of Cologne – Germany

4-       Mgr. Eamonn Mc Laughlin – Diocese of Raphoe – Ireland

5-       Mgr. Antonio Manuel Machado De Saldanha e Albuquerque – Diocese of Angra – Portugal

6-       Mgr. Ivan Ricupero – Metropolitan Archdiocese of Syracuse – Italy

7-       Mgr. Massimo Muccillo – Metropolitan Archdiocese of Campobasso-Bojano – Italy


The new Canons will take possession of their Office during the celebration of II Vespers on Sunday, 28 April next, at 16:30. Thereafter, they will concelebrate the Eucharistic celebration at 18:00.

You are cordially invited to join in the Celebration and, henceforward, to accompany the new Canons with your prayer. 

10 April 2024